only search B.P. Lama Jyotisha
Barbara Pijan Lama Jyotisha Vedic Astrology

Shri Shri Ganapati



Positions for Chandra and Lagna

Rules quoted from page 171, Light on Relationships : The Synastry of Indian Astrology by Hart Defouw, Robert E. Svoboda

Gandanta zones

Gandanta = one of the many designations related to sandhi = juncture, transition-zone, or cusp.

Gandanta zones = six rashi cusps that form the borders

  1. between two rashi

  2. between two Nakshatra

Chandra lagna or radix lagna is considered to be weakened when lagna occupies a Gandanta zone:

The final 3:20 degrees of:

  1. Azlesa [= end of Karka]

  2. Jyestha [= end of Vrischika]

  3. Revati [= end of Meena]

- or - the initial 3:20 degrees of:

  1. Azvini [= beginning of Mesha]

  2. Magha [= beginning of Simha]

  3. Mula [= beginning of Dhanusha]


the final 3:20 degrees of Azlesa, Jyestha, Revati

Budha rules the final 3:20 (fourth pada) of Azlesa, Jyestha, and Revati.

  • Therefore the degree of Moon's gandanta-weakness will depend somewhat on Chandra's relationship to Budha in the rashi and navamsha charts.

Old Chandra is friendly toward young Budha (his offspring) but young Budha hates old Chandra (his true but illegitimate father).

  • Therefore a gandanta Moon combined with a dominant Budha (e.g. in Mithuna or Kanya) will cause the person to over-verbalize about their emotional fluctuations, resulting in a psychological fixation on their problems.

For example, the nativity with a weakened gandanta-zone RevatiChandra, where Chandra receives drishti of uttama-Budha in yuvati bhava, can give a relentlessly verbal-analytical spouse who accurately but painfully dissects all the personality weaknesses of the native . Chandra is weakened and cannot self-defend.

But such extremes are rare. Normally, gandanta is a minor factorin evaluating the Moon or lagna.

  • In practice, the end-zones of Azlesa and Revatiare rarely poor places for the Moon unless other influences, in addition to gandanta, would destabilize Chandra.

The end of Jyestha is a weakened lunar zone because Chandra is nichha in Scorpio rashi anyway.

Any lagna can be weakened if it occurs at the end of Azlesa, Jyestha, or Revati, if its lagnesha is not strong.


the first 3:20 degrees of Azwini, Magha, Mula

These three portions are all ruled by weird, earth-alienated, psychic Ketu.

  • The Moon is not especially comfortable in fire rashis generally, because He craves the kapha embrace of water.

  • If Ketu is over-active in the chart, then Chandra or lagna in the first 3:20 of Azvini, Magha and Mula will be emotionally or physically upset from being around too much "heat".


Azvini and Magha are more flexible but Mula is always problematic.

Mula contains our psychic pipeline to our galactic sun.

  • At present levels of Dwapara-Yuga consciousness, the psychic information which comes to us over the Mula bandwidth is socially and materially disorienting to most folks.

    • However those with adequate psychic interpretive facilities will recognize Ketu's signals as reliable indicators of the "breaking up" phase of the coagulation-scatter cycle which governs all manifestation of life-form in the universe.

    The final 3:20 of Mula can be a confused, mystical place for Chandra or lagna unless the person is otherwise grounded through high social or intellectual confidence (i.e., strong benefics in kendra or trine).

Hidden weakness

Otherwise healthy Graha -- not only Chandra and Lagna but also the individual Graha - which happen to be gandantawill give a weird twist to the affairs of their rashi and navamsha houses during their periods.

  • The twist is caused by hidden weakness.

Often there is throughout the life a considerable "masking" of this hidden weakness via denial or skillful rational management -- until the gandanta planet's period pushes the weakness through the denial barrierand up to the surface consciousness.


Om_mani.jpgfile update: 27-Jun-2014

Copyright 1994-2024 by Barbara Pijan Lama * Contact * How to Request a Jyotisha Reading *

Barbara Pijan Lama Jyotisha Vedic Astrology Surya Sun Chandra Moon Mangala Mars Budha Mercury Guru Jupiter Shukra Venus Shani Saturn Rahu Ketu Graha Planets Dasha Timeline Nakshatra Navamsha Marriage Children Wealth Career Spiritual Wisdom Cycles of Death and Rebirth

The information on, including all readings and reports, is provided for educational purposes only. Wishing you every happiness and continuing success in studies!