only search B.P. Lama Jyotishavidya




33 deities

8 ashta vasu

11 ekadas rudra

12 dwadas-aditya

1 praja-pati

1 vashatkara

Vocabulary for Vasu


  • good
  • beneficent
  • sweet
  • dry

name of the gods, as the "good or bright ones" , esp. of

  1. the Adityas
  2. Maruts
  3. Asvins
  4. Indra
  5. Ushas
  6. Rudra
  7. Vayu
  8. Vishnu
  9. Siva
  10. and Kubera

of a particular class of gods,

  • whose number is usually eight
  • and whose chief is Indra, later Agni and Vishnu

they form one of the nine Ganas or classes enumerated under Gana-devata

the eight Vasus were originally personifications, like other Vedic deities, of natural phenomena,

and are usually mentioned with the other Ganas common in the Veda , viz.

the eleven Rudras

and the twelve Adiyas,

constituting with them and with Dyaus "Heaven" and Prithivi, "Earth"

[or , according to some , with Indra and Praja-pati ,

or, according to others, with the two Asvins]

the thirty-three gods to which reference is frequently made

the names of the Vasu, according to the Vishnu-Purana:

  1. Apa "water"
  2. Dhruva "the Pole-star"
  3. Soma "the Moon"
  4. Dhava or Dhara "stream"
  5. Anila "Wind"
  6. Anala or Pavaka "Fire"
  7. Pratyusha "the Dawn"
  8. Prabhasa "Light"

but their names are variously given: Ahan "Day" being sometimes substituted for 1

in their relationship to Fire and Light, they appear to belong to Vedic rather than Puranic mythology

  • a symbolical name of the number "eight"
  • a ray of light
  • a partic. ray of light (jina)


  • wealth, goods, riches, property
  • the god of wealth or property
  • stream of wealth
  • gold
  • a jewel, gem, pearl
  • any valuable or precious object"

Asta-vasu * The Eight Vasu* Basu = Indwelling Ones

Gods of abundance

Basu-daibata = wealth-giver of jewels, precious articles, gold, etc.

the lists of these entities vary considerably according to lineage traditions

  1. Agni earth-fire * Anala living

  2. Prithvi earth * Dhara-Dhava stream (of water, of goods)

  3. Va-yu wind * A-nila wind (a-nila = color-less, dark-less, leader of the 49 winds)

  4. Antariksha atmosphere * Aha pervading

  5. Aditya eternal no-limits indivisible * Pratyu-sha pre-dawn light

  6. Dyaus sky * Prabha-sha shining dawn

  7. Chandramas moon * Soma moon

  8. Na-kstrani stars * Dhruva motionless (the Polestar)

  1. Drona
  2. Dhruva
  3. Dosha
  4. Arka
  5. Agni
  6. Dyou
  7. PraaNa
  8. Vibhavasu

Ap * Apah * ruling Water, one of the eight demigods called Vasu

Five major ayurvedic elements = Panch-maha-bhuti = akasha, vayu, agni, apah, and prithvi.

  • Akasha = "space, astral particles "

  • vayu = "simplest matter, gross prana"

  • agni = "fire, heat, fusing, radiation"; and

  • privthi = "earth, rocks, clay".

Apah = water but not only the normal sense of earth's water.

  • Apah = anything without a definite shape or volume,

    • that is moving or transitioning between shapes.

    Apah includes air, winds and waters -- anything in a liquid or gaseous state.

  • "Apah" is sometimes translated as "atmosphere".

ekadasa rudra Bheema












How Readings Work] [Sample Sacred Jewels Ratna Recommendation] [Seva]

updated:11 December 2021

Om_mani.jpg [Copyright 1994-2024 by Barbara Pijan Lama] [Contact] [How to Request a Jyotishavidya Reading]

Barbara Pijan Lama Jyotishavidya Vedic Astrology Surya Sun Chandra Moon Mangala Mars Budha Mercury Guru Jupiter Shukra Venus Shani Saturn Rahu Ketu Graha Planets Dasha Timeline Calendar Nakshatra Navamsha Marriage Children Treasury Career Spiritual Wisdom Cycles of re-Death and re-Birth

The information on , including all readings and reports, is provided for educational purposes only. Wishing you every happiness and continuing success in studies!